Ceramic hardness testing, i.e. resistance to penetration by a body, cannot be performed with all measuring tools and methods due to its special properties such as brittleness or high hardness. Only the usual methods according to Knoop or Vickers remain. WZR ceramic solutions GmbH carries out the hardness determination according to Vickers.

Hardness tester 4 (Zwick; Figure 2) is used for this purpose, which can be flexibly adapted to the respective material with variable superimposed load. A defined ground diamond (equilateral pyramid) is lowered onto the sample at a specified speed. This diamond tip is then pressed into the material at different depths – depending on the hardness of the material and the load on the test device.

Figure 1: Hardness impression on ceramic under microscope. Lengths of diagonals digitally measured and displayed.

In general, the larger the remaining impression, the less hard the material. The resulting impressions (Figure 1) are then measured and evaluated with high precision using microscopic techniques. All this is done according to the standards DIN 843-3 or DIN 6507-1. These standards cover both ceramics and glass. Thus the hardness can be determined as a parameter for the application, e.g. to characterize the closure resistance or the quality of a coating. The unit indicated here is HV (Vickers Hardness Number). The specification of the test load in Newton (N) is common today. However, the obsolete unit Kilopond (kp) can also be found in some cases. This can be converted to N by a factor of 9.80665.

Figure 2: Hardness tester 4 (Zwick).

Die Prüfung der Härte, also dem Widerstand gegen das Eindringen gegen einen Körper, von Keramik lässt sich aufgrund der speziellen Eigenschaften, wie Sprödigkeit oder hoher Härte nicht mit allen Messwerkzeugen und -methoden durchführen. Es verbleiben lediglich die gängigen Methoden nach Knoop oder Vickers. WZR ceramic solutions GmbH führt die Härtebestimmung nach Vickers durch.

Hierzu kommt der Härteprüfer 4 (Fa. Zwick; Abbildung 2) zum Einsatz, der mit variabler Auflast für den jeweiligen Werkstoff flexibel angepasst werden kann. Ein definiert geschliffener Diamant (gleichseitige Pyramide) wird mit vorgegebener Geschwindigkeit auf die Probe herabgelassen. Diese Diamantspitze drückt sich nun in das Material verschieden tief ein – abhängig von der Härte des Werkstoffes und Auflast auf dem Prüfgerät.

Abbildung 1: Härteeindruck auf Keramik unter dem Mikroskop. Längen der Diagonalen digital vermessen und eingeblendet.

Dabei gilt im Allgemeinen: Je größer der verbleibende Eindruck, desto weniger hart das Material. Die so erzeugten Eindrücke (Abbildung 1) werden im Anschluss mittels mikroskopischer Techniken hochgenau ausgemessen und ausgewertet. Dies alles geschieht nach den Normen DIN 843-3 oder DIN 6507-1. Diese Normen decken sowohl Keramik als auch Glas ab. Somit kann die Härte als ein Parameter für den Einsatz bestimmt werden, um z.B. die Verschließbeständigkeit oder die Güte einer Beschichtung zu charakterisieren. Die hierbei angegebene Einheit ist HV (Vickershärte, engl. VHN = Vickers Hardness Number). Die Angabe der Prüfkraft in Newton (N) ist heute üblich. Teils trifft man allerdings auch die veraltete Einheit Kilopond (kp) an. Diese kann über den Faktor 9,80665 in N umgerechnet werden.

Abbildung 2: Härteprüfer 4 (Fa. Zwick).