The technical use of ceramics usually takes place where other materials such as metals or plastics have already reached their limits. This can be a high thermal, mechanical stress or a special medium. However, attention must also be paid to the other properties of technical ceramics in contrast to metals, such as increased brittleness. Consequently, components should be designed differently in order to fulfil their purpose. If this is not the case, cracks or even complete breakage often occur, leading to total failure of the component in use. An expensive and avoidable circumstance. For this purpose, WZR ceramic solutions GmbH offers an analysis with regard to cause, application behaviour and testing of existing components in accordance with current standards and customer specifications. This helps to optimise components, predict their service life and check their suitability. This system increases the service life and reduces costs.
On request, we can also develop small series for the corresponding purpose at low cost and transfer them into production.

The causes of component failure are as varied as the application spectrum itself. Defects in the structure, such as pores or corrosion, as well as changes in the phase inventory due to use are not uncommon!

For the analysis of the damage, the knowledge of the intended purpose and the conditions is of great importance. Thus, sources of error can be excluded in advance, while others become more probable. WZR ceramic solutions GmbH has an extensive portfolio of analysis methods at its disposal in order to make comprehensive statements on the cause and, if necessary, on the course of the damage.

Do you have any questions? Then contact us directly!

Martin Witscher
Martin Witscher
Head of Testing & Evaluation

Der technische Einsatz von Keramik erfolgt im Regelfall dort, wo andere Werkstoffe wie Metalle oder Kunststoff bereits an ihre Grenzen gelangt sind. Dies kann eine hohe thermische, mechanische Belastung oder ein spezielles Medium sein. Dabei ist aber auch auf die anderen Eigenschaften technischer Keramiken im Gegensatz zu Metallen, wie erhöhte Sprödigkeit, geachtet werden. Demzufolge sollten Bauteile anders konstruiert sein, um ihren Zweck zu erfüllen. Ist dies nicht der Fall, kommt es häufig zu Rissen oder gar zum vollständigen Bruch und damit zum Totalausfall des Bauteils im Einsatz. Ein teurer und zu vermeidender Umstand. Hierfür bietet die WZR ceramic solutions GmbH eine Analyse in Bezug auf Ursache, Einsatzverhalten und Prüfung der bereits existierenden Bauteile nach gängigen Normen und Kundenvorgaben. Dies hilft Bauteile zu optimieren, die Standzeit vorherzusagen und die Eignung zu prüfen. Durch dieses System sind Erhöhung der Lebensdauer und Kostensenkung zu erreichen.
Auf Wunsch können wir auch Kleinserien kostengünstig für den entsprechenden Zweck entwickeln und in die Produktion überführen.

Dabei sind die Ursachen für das Versagen der Bauteile so vielfältig wie das Anwendungsspektrum selbst. Mängel am Gefüge, wie Poren oder Korrosion, sowie Veränderungen im Phasenbestand durch den Einsatz sind keine Seltenheit!

Für die Analyse des Schadens ist die Kenntnis des Einsatzzwecks und der Bedingungen von großer Wichtigkeit. Somit lassen sich im Voraus bereits Fehlerquellen ausschließen, während andere wahrscheinlicher werden. Die WZR ceramic solutions GmbH verfügt über ein umfangreiches Portfolio von Analysenmethoden, um umfassende Aussagen zur Ursache und ggf. zum Hergang des Schadens zu treffen.

Haben Sie Fragen? Dann sprechen Sie uns direkt an!

Martin Witscher
Martin Witscher
Projektleiter Prüfung & Bewertung